Awards & Programs

Memory Hold the Door

In 1958, the South Carolina Bar and the University of South Carolina School of Law established “Memory Hold the Door,” to preserve for the inspiration of future generations the high ethical and professional standards of past leaders of the legal profession – by acclaiming and extolling their virtues. The School of Law displays “Memory Hold the Door” books in the library.

The South Carolina Bar Foundation raises money to recognize the legal giants included each year. The purpose of the funds, is to promote, through the University of South Carolina School of Law, the welfare of the legal profession by using the income for scholarships.

The South Carolina Bar’s “Memory Hold the Door” Committee has charge of  identifying and selecting individuals worthy of inclusion. The lawyers remembered, therefore, represent a true Honor Roll of the legal profession, selected by their fellow lawyers as best exemplifying the qualities of integrity, professionalism and skill required of the Bench and Bar.

The Memory Hold the Door induction ceremony is held each Spring at the University of South Carolina School of Law to recognize the new inductees and their friends and family members are invited to attend.

The 2023 inductees are:

  • The Honorable Julius H. Baggett (1925-2019)
  • The Honorable William R. Byars, Jr. (1945-2019)
  • Frank E. Cain, Jr. (1924-2018)
  • Louis O. Dore (1945-2019)
  • William S. McAninch (1940-2018)
  • Peden B. McLeod, Sr. (1940-2021)
  • E. LeRoy Nettles, Sr. (1929-2020)
  • Edna S. Primus (1944-2019)
  • Irene K. Rudnick (1929-2019)
  • Marvin R. Watson (1934-2017)