Awards & Programs

Ellen Hines Smith Award

The Ellen Hines Smith Legal Services Lawyer of the Year Award was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Ellen Hines Smith of Spartanburg. Ellen was the founding director of Piedmont Legal Services. She served as a member of Spartanburg City Council and a municipal court judge. Her entire legal career was devoted to the creation and provision of legal services to the citizens of South Carolina. Her commitment and leadership were recognized both in South Carolina and across the nation.

The award is presented to recognize a lawyer who has demonstrated long-term commitment to legal services to the poor in South Carolina.

Eligibility and Criteria

  • Demonstrated dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor through a Legal Services program;
  • Quality and creativity in the delivery of legal services to the poor;
  • Successful litigation that has benefited significant numbers of indigents or favorably affected the provision of other services to indigents or other innovative actions;
  • Commitment to the goals of Legal Services;
  • Other public service for the community or the Bar.

Previous Recipients

1989 Martha B. Dicus
1990 Thomas L. Bruce
1991 Johnny Simpson
1992 Harold F. Daniels
1993 Andrea E. Loney
1994 Mozella Nicholson
1995 Thomas A. Trent
1996 Susan A. Cross
1997 Angela M. Myers
1998 Ethel E. Weinberg
1999 Nancy M. Butler
2000 Byron A. Reid
2001 Lynn P. Wagner

2002 Eddie G. McDonnell
2003 Frank W. Cannon
2004 Willie B. Heyward
2005 Lynn Snowber-Marini
2007 Marcia Powell Shew
2009 Maureen White
2010 Susan Firimonte
2011 Jack E. Cohoon
2012 Kirby R. Mitchell
2013 Kimberly P. Shelton
2014 Kimaka Nichols-Graham
2015 Susan P. Ingles
2016 Adam Protheroe